HPV Vaccine Developers Honored With 2017 Lasker-DeBakey Award

The Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation reports that “The 2017 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award honors two scientists whose technological advances enabled the development of human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccines, which prevent cervical cancer and other tumors. Douglas R. Lowy and John T. Schiller (both from the National Cancer Institute) took a bold but calculated approach toward a major public-health problem whose solution required them to vault formidable hurdles. They devised a blueprint for several safe and effective vaccines that promise to slash the incidence of cervical cancer and mortality, the fourth most common cancer among women worldwide, as well as other malignancies and disorders that arise from human papillomaviruses.” Click here for the full story or here for help with your drug, biologic, biosimilar or complex generic development program.